Russia’s gas embargo does not include Mongolia

Russia will impose a six-month ban on gasoline exports starting March 1 to meet rising domestic demand, the RBC news outlet reported Tuesday, citing two government sources and a representative of Deputy Prime Minister Alexander Novak.

Novak was said to have told Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin in a letter last month that demand for fuel will grow because of summer vacation travel, spring fieldwork on farms and planned repairs at oil refineries.

Russia previously imposed “temporary restrictions” on gasoline and diesel exports between September and November to tackle surging prices. Belarus, Armenia, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan were exempt from the export ban as members of the Moscow-led Eurasian Economic Union. The latest ban exempts the same countries, as well as Uzbekistan, Mongolia and Georgia’s separatist regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, which Russia recognizes as independent states.

We clarified Ganbaatar.J, Minister of Mining and Heavy Industry about Russia’s fuel ban. According to him, the decision to impose a ban on Russian exports has not been finalized. But it has been reported that Mongolia is not included in the ban. Diesel and AI-92 fuel reserves are normal and sufficient in Mongolia.

The post Russia’s gas embargo does not include Mongolia appeared first on News.MN – The source of news.